Berlin ist Hier

Fed Ex dropped of my copies of City of Smoke today. Clem appears delighted, but it may just be the off-gassing of industrial Chinese printing ink that’s making her smile like that. I’m not as excited as I should be, for some reason. There it is, seven years of my life in 196 pages of story. What is that, like 28 pages a year? Oh yeah, maybe that’s why I’m depressed.

Anyway, here’s to getting the next one done in four!

20 Responses to “Berlin ist Hier”

  1. Alec Says:

    Congratulations Jason!!! I’m glad to know you’re ready to dive in on book 3. Four years? You can do it!

  2. Isaac Says:

    That is some seriously exciting news! I’m looking forward to getting a copy. Congrats!

  3. John Nora Says:

    Man I’d take 28 pages a year in a heartbeat!

    Right now I’m at about .25 pages a year…

    Congratulations. I will shell out the bucks. Hope to see you in NY.

  4. Steve MacIsaac Says:

    It may average out to only 28 pages a year, but you’re not factoring in your recent burst in productivity – the last four issues have come out at a positively blistering pace – more like 96 pages a year.

  5. Tom Devlin Says:

    Can we aim for two years?

  6. Jason Lutes Says:

    Sure, Tom. It’ll be two years late, though.

    Thanks everyone for the congratulations!

  7. GregBrown Says:

    Oui, Clem can come and play with rosemary anytime, although we lock the door now.

  8. Khaled Says:

    Congrats Jason. I’ll definitely be getting this (been waiting a while since I read City of Stones ) Greatness take time and care.

  9. Nick Holt Says:

    Very nice! I can’t tell you how much I have enjoyed these books, and the good fortune of having met the author.

    Hey, if I may boast of my own offspring, see carllegrone.blogspot.com

    You will be happy to know that your fox drawing is framed above his crib.

    Come visit us all down here sometime, before I lose my boardgame mojo.

    Also, Julian gave me this book to read, and I do believe you would enjoy: http://www.elfishgene.com/

  10. Carlos Says:

    Congratulations and thanks from Spain! I’ve been waiting for Berlin, City of smoke since my last reading of City of stones, as I’ll wait for your next masterpiece.
    Thanks sincerely, Jason.

  11. Jake Austen Says:

    Mazel Tov! I smell a Harvey! Or I smell like a guy named Harvey, one or the other. Please get in touch, need your current address.

  12. Rich Tommaso Says:

    Hey Jason–

    I recently picked up Berlin #2 and just wanted to tell you how much I enjoyed the second volume– couldn’t put it down! I can’t wait to see more. Good luck with the future issues and to you and your family in your new home of White River Junction, VT! Please say “hello” to everyone at CCS for me! Take care.

  13. Colin Mathieson Says:

    Yep mine’s on order so can’t wait for it to arrive across the Atlantic, enjoyed the recent flurry of the comic chapters too. You should enjoy at least a few quiet moments of contention now its done and out there and so many more people will get a chance to share the fun and harass you for the next one!

  14. k benlloch Says:

    congrats!!

  15. Joana Says:

    I bought your book about Berlin after some time i moved there. I think you captured really well the spirit of the city. At least the feelings i got while reading it were the same i had when wandering in the streets.

    I can’t wait to read the 3th vol.!

  16. Christian Hasslbauer Says:

    Exciting news! I can’t wait to get my hands on the German version of this. Frankly I’m normally not that excited about comics, but you’re doing the trick, Jason. I wish you a great deal of inspiration for part 3.

    (By the way, are there any new Dominions 3 maps on the way?) ;)

  17. Daphne Says:

    WAY TO GO, JASON!!

    Looking forward to seeing it.

    Daphne

  18. Brad Says:

    Hey! I just picked up City of Smoke yesterday after blasting through City of Stones.

    I hope you do Vol 3 quicker than four years! I will be an old man by then, at the ripe old age of 28.

  19. michele Says:

    congratulations again!… though it’s been printed in italy (in italian…both volumes) i remained faithful to the original version. i had to re-read “city of stones” before diving into “city of smoke” ; )
    i add myself to the rest of the crew…impatient for the third volume

    ciao!

    michele

  20. Steven Says:

    I have just re-read both available Berlin books in Swedish and look forward to the next volume–whenever that might happen. You should be pleased with the Swedish versions put out by Galago. I’ve read a great deal about Germany and Berlin in the 1920s and 30s, and you capture the events, milieu and people of those times in a superb way.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

